Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Administrators can customize how new user accounts are created. 

In this scenario you are allowing users to create their own account but it is disabled until an Administrator approves it

The settings that you use to configure this scenario are described in Table 1.

 Table 1. The Settings

SettingOptionsDescription
New Account

ENABLED = opens a window for the user to type in new account information

DISABLED = opens a window explaining that User Account Creation is not allowed

This setting determines the behavior of the New Account button on the user log-in page.

If enabled, this setting works with two other settings to determine authentication and approval permissions:

  • Allow Account Signups
  • Automatic Account Approval

Allow Account Signups

Specifies if a user can or cannot create an new FileCloud user account from the log-in page by choosing:

  • DEFAULT
  • TRUE
  • FALSE

Can Create an Account

Prerequisite: New Account  = Enabled

DEFAULT = Local user authentication is allowed

  • Active Directory authentication allowed
  • LDAP authentication allowed


TRUE = Local user can create their own account

  • Active Directory authentication not allowed
  • LDAP authentication not allowed

Cannot Create an Account

FALSE = Local user cannot create their own account

  • If the New Account button is enabled, and the user clicks it, they can fill out the fields on the form. However, when they try to submit the information they will get an error that new account creation is not allowed.

This setting controls if the user can create a new account. By default, the account is disabled until an administrator approves it. If you want the account to be automatically approved, use the Automatic Account Approval settings.

Do I choose DEFAULT or TRUE?

DEFAULT

  • If you are using AD or LDAP Authentication.
  • You want to allow your AD users to create their own FileCloud user accounts. After you import AD or LDAP user accounts into FileCloud, you can have the users create their own FileCloud account automatically on first login. In this scenario you would just tell your users to log in using their AD or LDAP credentials and on first login FileCloud will automatically create that user's new FileCloud account.

TRUE

  • If you are NOT using AD or LDAP Authentication
  • You want to allow your users to create their own user accounts. By default, the account is disabled until an Administrator approves it.

Automatic Account Approval

(Default) 0 = The account created by the user is DISABLED by default. It requires Admin approval to assign FULL or GUEST access to the account.

1 = The new user account is automatically approved with FULL access.

2 = The new user account is automatically approved with GUEST access.

3 = The new user account is automatically approved with LIMITED access.

Prerequisites:

  • New Account = ENABLED
  • Allow Account Signups = DEFAULT or TRUE

This setting works with the Allow Account Signups setting to determine:

  • If the account created by the user is disabled until the Administrator approves it
  • If the account is approved with a specific level of access automatically without intervention from the Administrator.

(lightbulb)  For smaller organizations or high security sites, you can configure this option so that when a user creates a new account it is disabled until it is approved by the administrator.

(lightbulb)  For larger organizations, it might not be practical to have the administrator approve every account created and so you can use the automatic account approval settings.


The scenarios where a user can create a new FileCloud account are described in Table 3.

Users can create their own accounts

The Admin must approve the accounts

(lightbulb) This scenario can also be used to allow new users to create an account when a Share invitation is sent.

(warning) This scenario does not work for AD and LDAP users. Refer to the specific scenarios and settings for AD and LDAP users.

  1. The Administrator provides the user with the URL for the User Portal.
  2. The User accesses the user portal from a Web browser, mobile device, FileCloud Sync or FileCloud Drive.
  3. On the User Portal Login window, the user clicks the New Account button.
  4. The user enters details in the account creation fields.
  5. The account is created but is disabled by default.
  6. The Admin will be notified about the new account.
  7. The Admin will approve the account.
  8. The Admin will set the user account type to Full User or Guest User.
  9. The user will receive an account creation email using the email address provided during account creation.
  10. The user is required to verify the email account to complete the account creation process.

Settings option, Authentication tab

(tick) Authentication Type = DEFAULT

Customization settings, Login tab

(tick)  New Account button = ENABLED

Settings option, Admin tab

(tick)  Allow Account Signups = TRUE

(error) Automatic Account Approval = 0

To allow a user to create an account that is disabled by default, you will need to set the Allow Account Signups field. Table 1 describes the options you can choose from.

This scenario allows the user to fill out the account information and the Administrator to approve it before the account be used to access the FileCloud site.

For this scenario, use the following settings:

(tick)  New Account button = ENABLED

(error)  Allow Account Signups = FALSE

(error) Automatic Account Approval = 0

If you disable Account Signups, then the Automatic Approval setting can be left set to the default.


To configure these settings:

  1. Log into  the Administration Portal.
  2. In the left menu panel, click Customization.
  3. On the General tab, click the Login  tab.
  4. Next to Show New Account Button, make sure the checkbox is not selected.
  5. In the left menu panel, click Settings.
  6. In the right panel, click the Admin Tab.
  7. In the Allow Account Signups field, select FALSE.

 The user is notified by email when:

  • Trying to connect (Admin approval pending) 
  • When the administrator has approved the device trying to connect
  • No labels