In the User Portal, a user can click on the root folder, My Files, and select Share. This is a security threat and should not be allowed.
In FileCloud Server version 19.1 and later:
- in the User Portal, when a user clicks on the root folder, My Files, they no longer have the Sharing option!
When a user wants to share a file or folder, administrators can decide which options should be automatically selected.
These settings are really just a recommendation and can be changed by the user, unless you disable the ability to change the defaults.
Setting this option tells FileCloud Server what type of share to automatically select when a user shares a file or folder.
- Applicable only when Global Share Mode is set to Allow All Shares
- This type can be changed by the user unless Disallow Default Share Settings Change is set.
Allows users to share with anyone who has the link to the share.
Allows users to share with anyone who has the link and can log in to a FileCloud account.
Password Protected Share
Forces users to create a password when sharing a file or folder.
To set the Default Share Type:
Administrators can allow users to share files and folders for as long as they exist, or you can set a suggested number of days that a share remains active by default.
- Using a value of 0 means that unless changed by a user, shares do not expire.
- This setting can be changed by the user unless Disallow Default Share Settings Change is set.
To set the Share Expiry default:
Administrators can allow users to upload files into a shared folder no matter how big it is, or you can set a suggested size limit.
- You can set a maximum size limit in any of the following units: B, KB, MB, GB.
- Using a value of 0 means that users can upload files into a shared folder no matter how big it is.
- This setting can be changed by the user in the shared folder settings.
To set the Max Upload size default for Shares:
If you want to force users to share files and folders with the default settings you have configured, you can use this option to prevent them from changing the defaults set by an Administrator in the Admin Portal.
To prevent users from changing Admin default settings for shares:
After a user opens a browser and logs in to the User Portal, they can share a folder privately.
- This share has the ability to be shared again by members.
- Share owners can also designate another user to manage those re-shares of the original shared folder by selecting the Allow Manage option.
If the folders being shared are in Network Folders, and there are a large number of shares and users working with Network Folders, displaying a list of shares may take too long or even timeout.
Now you can configure FileCloud to disable the Allow Manage option for shares in Network Folders to decrease the time it takes to display the list of shares.
- TONIDOCLOUD_MANAGE_SHARE_ENABLE is a new config that can be set to 0 to completely disable the Allow Manage sharing option for Network Folders
To disable the Allow Manage option for Network Folders:
- Open the following file for editing:
2. Add the following line: