Child pages
  • Configure the Team Folders Account
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

As an administrator, you must enable Team Folders and provision the account to use. 

The team folder account is simply a system designated FULL USER account.

  • FileCloud will create the account for you - you just need to choose the name you want to use
  • The system account is not counted towards your user license
  • FileCloud will also create an email account for you where Team Folder notifications will be sent
  • The email address for Team Folder notifications should take the form of <newalias@mycompany.com>
  • You can also choose instead to promote an existing user account that is already in use for company-wide communication.

To configure a Team Folders account

You can choose one of the following options:


 Allow FileCloud to create the Team Folders account


To enable team folders and provision an account:

  1. Open a browser and log on to the Admin Portal. 
  2. From the left navigation panel, click Settings. 
  3. On the Manage Settings screen, click the Team Folders Tab.
  4. Click the Enable Team Folders Check box. 
  5. On the Set up Team Folder Account window, in Enter Team Folder Account Name, type in a new unique name you want to use. 
    1. The team folder account name can contain alpha numeric characters along with underscore, period, dash and space. 
  6. When the team folder account name is confirmed, on the Set Team Folder Account window, in Password, type in a new strong password that follows the same rules for creating an admin password.
  7. In the Set Team Folder Account window, in Email, type in a new alias for the account. The email address for Team Folder notifications should take the form of <newalias@mycompany.com>
  8. Click Create.
  9. When the Team Folder account is provisioned and team folders are enabled, you will see a window similar to the following figure: 

  10. As an optional step, to set additional properties for the Team Folder account, click the Manage button.




    Property NameProperty Description
    Total Quota (GB)Total Quota alloted for the team folder account. Default value is 0, which implies team folder account has unlimited quota.
    EmailEmail address for the team folder account.
    Display NameDisplay Name that will be used to display the team folders in the user interface.
    Share Mode

    The type of shares that can be created for files and folders under team folders.

    a. Allow All Shares - Both Public and Private Shares are allowed
    b. Allow Private Shares Only - Only private shares are allowed.

    Reset PasswordReset the password for the team folder account.
    Delete AccountDelete the team folder account. This will delete all the files and folders under the team folders.
    Manage SharesView all the shares that are created under the team folder account.
 Promote an existing user account

You can promote an existing user account that is already in use for company-wide communication.

Promoting existing user accounts to team folders should be done only after understanding all the consequences of such an action.

  • This can cause company-wide changes to the Sync app users
  • Promoting an existing account can potentially cause the re-downloading existing content


light-on (on) Although this promotion can be done from the Admin settings, doing so can have some implications to existing users who are using sync applications.

To move an existing user account to a Team Folder account:

  1. Ensure that all Sync apps connecting to your FileCloud site are running version 15.0 or later. Using an older version will not sync team folders.
  2. Open a browser and log on to the Admin Portal. 
  3. From the left navigation panel, click Settings. 
  4. On the Manage Settings screen, click the Team Folders Tab.
  5. Click the Enable Team Folders Check box. 
  6. On the Set up Team Folder Account window, in Enter Team Folder Account Name, type in the existing FULL USER account name you want to use.
  7. On the Set Team Folder Account window, in Password, type in the password for the existing FULL USER account name you used in step 6.
  8. In the Set Team Folder Account window, in Email, type in the email address for the existing FULL USER account name you used in step 6.
  9. Click Create.
  10. For each user connecting with the Sync app: 
    1. Open any running Sync apps
    1. , and choose "Reset Sync Data", the app will logout the current user. 
    2. Shutdown the sync app. 
    3. Upgrade each user's sync app to the latest version, then startup the sync app.
    4. The data synced previously to "Shared With Me" → Group Account will now be re-downloaded to the Team Folders→Folders.
    5. After all the data has been downloaded, you can delete the old folders in "Shared with Me"






  • No labels