Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Beginning with FileCloud 20.3, expert settings for Sync are available from the Help page in the main dashboard. Only change these settings with help from FileCloud support.

Prior to FileCloud 20.3, expert settings were configured through the Sync xml file. See XML Options for Sync.

To access expert settings:

  1. In your system tray, right-click the Sync icon and choose Open.
  2. In the mini-dashboard, click Dashboard.
  3. In the navigation pane of the dashboard, click Help.
    The Help page opens. 
  4. In the section Expert Settings, click Edit.



    The Expert Settings dialog box opens.



  5. Check with support before making changes to these settings.

Expert Settings and their definitions

SettingDefinition

Always Resolve Conflict With

Made available in FileCloud Version 20.2. 

Allows you to set up automatic file conflict resolution using either the local or server file.  Conflict files are not created when this setting is included.

Values:

  • None - (default) Automatic file conflict is not enabled.
  • Local - Automatic file conflict is set to always resolve to the local file.
  • Server - Automatic file conflict is set to always resolve with the server file.
Show All Error Notifications

Made available in FileCloud Version 20.2. 

Allows you to display error and other important notifications are disabled.

Values:

  • No - (default) Do not show important notifications when notifications are disabled.
  • Yes - Show important notifications when notifications are disabled. 

Allowed File List

Made available in FileCloud Version 19.1. 
Allows users to sync file types like lnk, ini and thumbs.db. 

Value
Enter the file types that you want to allow separated by a vertical bar, for example: lnk|ini
To display hidden files, enter *.*

Skipped Files Notification

If any files were skipped during syncing, displays the notification "Some files were ignored by Sync. Please check Activity Log for details." 

Values:

  • No - (default) Do not display the message when files are skipped.
  • Yes - Display the above message when files are skipped.
SSL Level

Specifies the version of TLS that the Sync application uses.

Values:

  • Client - (default) Use the highest value supported by the server.
  • TLS 1.x - Use the version of TLS selected. (Chosen version must be supported by server or you will not be able to connect.)

Backup Restrictions

Allows you to specify the file types that should be ignored during Sync backup.

Value
Enter the file types to ignore separated by a vertical bar, for example: mp3|bat

Not available for FileCloud ServerSync.

Backup Size Limit

Allows you to specify the upload size limit during Sync backup.

Value
Enter a size in MB.

Not available for FileCloud ServerSync.

Check for Updates

Whether or not to check for updates on Sync startup.

Values:

  • Yes - (default) Check for updates on startup.
  • No - Do not check for updates on startup.

Remove Unshared

Whether or not to remove local shared folders when their synced folders are removed from the remote server.

Values:

  • No- (default) Do not remove folders from the local server if their synced folders are removed from the remove server.
  • Yes - Remove folders from the local server if their synced folders are removed from the remove server. Use this option with caution as data loss might happen if a user has added files to shared folders.

Check Modification Time

Whether or not to use file modification times as well as changes in file sizes to detect file changes. Only applicable when using My Files (Managed Storage).

Note: By default, only changes in file sizes are used to detect changes to local files. If you change files without the file size changing (like XLS and XLSX) , to enable Sync to detect these changes and upload them to the server, enable this option.

Values:

  • No - default. Do not use file modifications to detect file changes; only use changes in file size.
  • Yes - Use file modifications and changes in file size to detect file changes.

After enabling this option, restart the sync app and re-login. Enter your account information to continue. When data is resynced, new file changes will be detected and synced automatically. Also see Internal Sync Options.

Check CRC

Whether or not to use CRCs as well as changes in file sizes to detect file changes. Only applicable when using My Files (Managed Storage).

Note:
By default, only changes in file sizes are used to detect changes to local files. Using CRCs to detect changes enables you to determine if files have changed even when their file sizae has not changed. However, if possible, use only the Check Modification Time option, above, as using CRCs increases CPU load when scanning for changes. It is also possible to combine CRC checks with modtime checks for additional verification.

Uses file CRCs additionally to detect file changes. Use only checkmodtime option above if possible as using CRCs increases CPU load when scanning for changes. It is also possible to combine CRC checks with modification time checks for additional verification.

Values:

  • No - default. Do not use CRCs to detect file changes.
  • Yes - Use CRC's in addition toF changes in file size to detect file changes.

After enabling this option, restart the sync app and re-login. Enter your account information to continue. When data is resynced, new file changes will be detected and synced automatically. Also see Internal Sync Options.

Exclude Paths

Specify a list of paths to exclude from backups

Values:

  • None - (default) Backup all paths.
  • Enter the paths to exclude separated by a vertical bar, for example:  C:\data\TS|C:\data

Skip Delete Approval

Whether or not to check for approvals for file deletes

Values:

  • No  - (default) Check for approvals for file deletes.
  • Yes - Do not check for approvals for file deletes.

Delete Approval Percentage

Minimum percent of local files changed that triggers a confirmation alert that requires the user to approve changes before they are synced to the FileCloud server. If the user does not confirm, the changes are reverted. 

For example, if you enter 50, when 50% or more of local content is changed, you are prompted to confirm syncing of changes.

Skip in Use Check

Whether or not to check if files are in use.

Values:

  • No - (default) Check if files are in use.
  • Yes - Do not check if files are in use.

Skip New Folders


Whether or not to skip syncing temporary new folders.

Values:

  • Yes - (default) Do not sync temporary new folders.
  • No  - Sync temporary new folders.

SSL Verify

Whether or not strict ssl verification is used when connecting to servers over HTTPS (SSL)

Values:

  • Yes - (default ) Use strict SSL verification.
  • No- Do not use SSL verification.

Max Threads

Maximum number of simultaneous download threads.

By default, the max download thread limit for Sync is set to 4, but you may decrease this.

Value:

Enter an integer specifying the maximum number of threads that can be downloaded simultaneously; default is 4.

  • No labels