Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Customization is available on FileCloud Standard and Enterprise. Learn more.


FileCloud allows some customization of the options on the User Portal and responses to user requests.

For any UI feature customizations to be effective, you must enable the first one, Enable UI Customizations.

To customize the log-in experience, see Customize the User Login Screen.


 Customize user options

You can enable or disable the following options to customize how users interact with the portal.

Table 1. UI Feature Options

OptionDescription
Enable UI CustomizationsThis enables or disables overall customization controls in User portal
Show Document Preview

Enabling this option will cause supported documents to be shown as a PDF preview in user portal.

NOTE: This requires another service to be installed in order to work correctly. See Setting up Document Preview

This enables or disables single file shares to open in a full preview mode (if applicable).
This is useful for PDF file shares.
Beginning with FileCloud version 20.2, enabled by default.

Show New Document Creation OptionEnabling this will allow the users to create new Office Document.
Show Quick Edit Option

Enabling this option will allow documents to be edited using the local system's office program and automatically save

back to FileCloud.

Enabling this option will allow documents to be edited online. (Requires "Web Edit" configured)
Disable Music PlaybackShow or disable Music Player in User Portal
Disable News FeedShow or disable news feed in User Portal (Shown below the left side navigation panel)
Disable Folder DownloadDisable "Downloading" of full folders or multiple items as zip files

Options:

Send email and show email preview dialog (default)

Send email and hide preview dialog: Share Email Notification Dialog will not pop up, but automatically the email will be sent to the user.

Do not send email when sharing: Share Email Notification Dialog will not pop up, and no email will be sent to the user.

Disable Getting Started Admin Dialog

(Added in FileCloud 20.1)  

This only disables the features overview for new administrators. In versions prior to 20.1, it disabled the features overview for new administrators and the tutorial and welcome message for new users.

Disable New User Tutorial

(Added in FileCloud 20.1) 

Disable the tutorial and welcome message that automatically appears when a new user signs in to FileCloud.


To change the options a user will see:

  1. Login to Administration portal.
  2. On the left navigation menu panel, click Customization.
  3. Click the General tab, and then below it click the UI Features tab.
  4. Use the checkboxes to enable or disable any of the options described in Table 1.
  5. To apply the change, click Save.
 Add links to the Account menu

You can enable or disable the following options to add links to the user's Account menu.

Table 3. Account Menu Options

TypeDescription
Show Install Desktop AppsThis will show or hide the "Install Desktop Apps" menu item in the "Account" drop-down menu in User portal
Show Install Mobile AppsThis will show or hide the "Install Mobile Apps" menu item in the "Account" drop-down menu in User portal

 

To change the user's Account menu options:

  1. Login to Administration portal.
  2. On the left navigation menu panel, click Customization.
  3. Click the General tab, and then below it click the Account tab.
  4. Use the checkboxes to enable or disable any of the options described in Table 3.
  5. To apply the change, click Save.
 Customize how files are listed

You can enable or disable the following options to change how files are listed on the User Portal.

Table 4. File Listing Options

TypeDescription
Default file selectionAuto Select of a file when a user logs in
This option will allow you to enable or disable multi-select feature in File list view
Default sort byThe sorting of File Listing shown in the web browser can be selected to be based on either Name or Data or Size.
Default sort directionThe sorting of File Listing shown in the web browser can be set to Ascending or Descending order.


 

To change the way a user's files are listed:

  1. Login to Administration portal.
  2. On the left navigation menu panel, click Customization.
  3. Click the General tab, and then below it click the Listing tab.
  4. Use the checkboxes to enable or disable any of the options described in Table 4.
  5. To apply the change, click Save.
  • No labels