Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Administrators can create groups of users in FileCloud Server. Creating groups allows setting network share access and sharing of files and folders.

An automatic group called "EVERYONE" is created by default for every FileCloud installation. This is a special group that contains all active full users in the FileCloud system. 

Be sure to set a valid email address for the group in the group details OR delete the group if "EVERYONE" is not needed)

Limited users are not included in the EVERYONE group.

Groups may contain the following attributes

  • Group Name - Name assigned by the Administrator
  • Group Members - List of users that are part of the group
  • Group Admins - (optional) Users with the ability to view users, add users, and/or remove users from the group.
  • Group Policy - The policy that applies to all members of the group. By default, the Global Default Policy is assigned.

Once a group is created, it can be populated with users using one of the following methods:

  • Manually adding users that are already in the FileCloud system. 
  • Importing members of a group from an external AD server.


To manage groups, in the navigation panel, click Groups.

The Everyone group is included by FileCloud. It contains all Full and Guest users.



What do you want to do?



To create a group: 

  1. Open a browser and log on the Admin Portal.
  2. On the left control panel, click on Groups
  3. Type in the name of the group.
  4. Click the Add Group button.
  5. The group is added and the Manage Group dialog box opens.


This method requires the user accounts to already exist in your local FileCloud Server.

To add FileCloud users to a group: 

  1. If you have just added the group, the Manage Group dialog box is now opened to the Members tab.
    If you want to add members to an existing group, click the Edit icon next to the group.
  2. If it is not already selected, click the Members tab.
  3. In Add Users to Group, enter the username or email of an existing FileCloud user, and click Add


    The user is listed under Users in Group.
  4. Add any number of users.
  5. Either click Save to save the new members in the group, or click the Admins or Policies tab to further configure the group.

You can assign users to be admins of a group and give each group admin access to view, add, and/or remove users from the group.
A user's policy also may enable them to add and/or remove users from groups. See Giving Users Group Management Permissions for more information. If either a user's group admin access or policy settings gives the user the permission to add or remove users from a group, the user has that ability, and can access the Manage User Groups setting in the user portal:


To Add Group Admins:

  1. If you are not already inside the Manage Group dialog box, open it by clicking the Edit icon next to the group.
  2. Click the Admins tab.
  3. In the search box, enter a user that you want to add as an admin, and click Add.
    The user does not have to be a group member, but must be a current FileCloud user.


    The user is listed under Group Admins with Can view users, Can add users, and Can remove users checked by default.
  4. Uncheck any of the privileges that you do not want the user to have.
  5. Add any number of admins and set their privileges.
  6. Either click Save to save the admins, or click one of the other tabs to further configure the group.



Members of a group have both their user policy and the group's policy. For each setting the user has the greatest access given in either policy.

By default, your groups are assigned the Global Default Policy. You can change that default when you initially create the group or later by editing it. 

To change a group's policy:

  1. If you are not already inside the Manage Group dialog box, open it by clicking the Edit icon next to the group.
  2. Click the Policies tab.
  3. To change the group's policy, click Select.

    A list of policies opens.
  4. Click a policy, and then click Select.
  5. Click Save, and click Close.

You can also import users from Active Directory into a FileCloud group.

The ability to automatically remove users not in a group during AD group import is available in FileCloud version 18.2

During AD import, if a user is not in a group, the account is not removed automatically from the FileCloud group. This logic is based on the scenario where an administrator manually adds other users, not in the group, and those users should not be removed.

However, for a scenario where an enterprise uses a large number of temporary workers, such as a construction company that uses a large number of contractors, if they import a large number of users based on groups, when a contractors are no longer employed and, and therefore not a member of that group, you can now select a checkbox on the AD Group Members Import dialog box called Remove members not found in AD group. This allows admins who need to remove accounts on import to do so automatically. If you have manually created accounts that you don't want deleted but aren't a member of a group, then you would not select this option and the accounts will be imported.


(lightbulb) You can enable FileCloud to automatically sync with AD groups on a periodic basis.

  • The first time manual import of members from AD group with FileCloud Group will be done.
  • In the future, new members added to the AD group will be synced automatically to the FileCloud group as well. 
  • Syncing with AD groups happens only every 24 hours.
    To change the sync interval, add the following config line. Minimum interval is  1 hour.
    define("TONIDOCLOUD_ADGROUPSYNC_INTVL", 2); // 2 hour interval
    In 2 hours, the logs should display this message:
    CRON: Starting Auto Sync AD Groups

You need to setup and enable Cron Job or Windows Task Scheduler for this function to work correctly.


(warning) You must set up and verify Active Directory Settings before completing the following steps.

To add AD users to a FileCloud group: 

  1. Open a browser and log on to the Admin Portal.
  2. On the left control panel, click Groups
  3. Select the Group that you want to add users to, and then click the Edit icon.
  4. On the Manage Group dialog box, in the Members tab, click Import Users from AD Group.
  5. On the AD Group Members Import screen, type in the AD Group Name you want to import.
    An AD Group Members Import screen appears.
  6. Automatic Sync is selected by default. Leave it selected to enable FileCloud to automatically sync with AD groups on a periodic basis.
  7. Select any of the other options:
    • Remove Members - Enable FileCloud to remove members from the group if they are no longer in the AD group.
    • Disable Members - Enable FileCloud to disable members in the group if they are disabled in the AD group.
    • Send Email - Enable FileCloud to send email approval to members of the AD group.
  8. To import the users from the AD group, click Import.
    You can rerun this operation at any time and it will add new members from the AD group into the FileCloud group.







  • No labels