Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Remote Device Management

You must be logged on as an "Administrator or be a member of the Administrators group" in order to perform Device Management actions.


  As an administrator, you can manage the various clients connecting to the FileCloud instance.

  • This feature is called Remote Client Management (RCM) or Data Leak Prevention Control (DLPC)

 What Do All These Columns Mean?


Column TitleDescription
1

 

Checkbox to identify the client device record you are working with
2

 

Arrow to expand or collapse device details
3Health

Health icon displayed as a color

Green = Healthy

Yellow = Needs Attention

4TypeClient device icon
5User NameThe account name that user logged in with on the client device
6 Device Name

The device name as setup by the client device.

  • This can be generic like "Cloud Sync" or "Client Drive" or specific like "Anis' iPhone 5"
7Device DetailsDisplays the OS type, OS version and the Client App's version.
8 Last Access

Displays the last time this device connected to the FileCloud server

  • Also displays the location where the client connected from
9 StatusIndicates whether the device has been Approved or Not Approved for Access by the administrator
10 Access

Indicates if the device can connect or not.

  • Allow
  • Block
  • Remote wipe
11 ActionThe list of queued actions for that client device, such as the number of messages.
12 LogsFolder to view uploaded logs from the client
13MessageOpens a window to send a message to the selected client
14Get LogsRetrieves the logs from the selected client
15CommandSends a configuration command to the selected client
16Delete

Removes the selected client from the list of connect clients

  • Logs the user out of their account
  • Closes the connection
  • Removes data associated with the device
  • Removes any connection permissions associated with the device


FAQ's


 What Devices Can Connect?

By Default, FileCloud will not allow non RCM Compliant clients to connect into FileCloud service. You can change this behavior in Basic Server Settings page.


The following devices can connect to FileCloud Server and can be managed from the Admin Portal:

  • FileCloud iOS App
  • FileCloud Android App
  • FileCloud Windows Store App 
  • FileCloud Sync
  • FileCloud Drive
  • FC Outlook AddIn
  • FC Office AddIn

Admin user will be able to see all devices that connected to a FileCloud server using the Admin Control Panel. 

The number of devices are shown in the Summary and the actual list of devices can be seen from the "Manage Devices" menu.

 Where Can I See a List of Connected Devices?

An administrator can open the list of devices to manage using one of the following ways:

  • Look on the Home dashboard of the Admin Portal
  • Look on the Devices dashboard in the Admin Portal
  • On a User Properties Popup, click Manage Mobile Devices 

(lightbulb) Sometimes a list may start out empty. However, as users connect devices to the FileCloud Server by logging in, the devices will appear.






How Do You Want to Manage a Device?

The following operations are available from the Device Management panel:


 View Details of a Client Device

To see the details of a connected device:

  1. Log into Admin Portal.
  2. From the left navigation panel, under DEVICES, select Devices.
  3. On the Manage Devices screen, select the device you want details for.
  4. In the second column, click the expand arrow ().
 View and Manage Actions Queued

If a message is queued to a device, it is possible to view them using the Admin Portal.

To view Actions:

  1. Log into Admin Portal.
  2. From the left navigation panel, under DEVICES, select Devices.
  3. On the Manage Devices screen, select the device you want details for.
  4. In the Actions column, click the button.
  5. Any queued action can be deleted from the pending actions list by clicking the Trash icon.



 Add a Message to the Client's Display

An Admin can display a short message on the remote client using the "Add message" feature.

  • The entered message(s) will be displayed when the remote client is connected to the FileCloud instance.
  • If more than one message is queued to a device, they will be displayed in the order they were created.
  • The messages will be shown only once per client 
  • The messages will be shown when the client connects to the FileCloud server (as a part of login operation)
  • If the client is already connected, then it will retrieve the message periodically and display it to the user

To send a message:

  1. Log into Admin Portal.
  2. From the left navigation panel, under DEVICES, select Devices.
  3. On the Manage Devices screen, select the device you want to send a message.
  4. Click Add Mesage, type in the message, and then click Send.


 Blocking and Remote Wiping

FileCloud's RMC function allows the Administrator to selectively block a specific client device from logging into the FileCloud server.

When a client device is blocked (or blocked with remote wipe action), it will be executed one of the following two ways

  • If the client is not connected, the block (and remote wipe) will happen when it tries to log into the server
  • If the client is connected, the block and remote wipe will occur and the client will automatically exit out

(lightbulb)  In addition to Blocking a Client Device from logging in, Administrator can also wipe FileCloud folders in the remote device.

The remote wipe will have the following effect on each of the clients

    • FileCloudDrive: Cache folder data will be deleted and application will logout
    • FileCloudSync: Synced data will be deleted and application will logout
    • iOS and Android: Downloaded data in "This Device" will be deleted and will log out of the server

To block (but not wipe remote data):

  1. Open a browser and log into Admin Portal.
  2. From the left navigation panel, under DEVICES, select Devices.
  3. On the Manage Devices screen, select the device you want to block.
  4. In the Permissions column, select Blocked.
  5. On the Confirm dialog, to just block but not remote wipe the client device, clear the Remote Wipe checkbox.
  6. Click OK.


To block and wipe remote data in a client device:

  1. Open a browser and log into Admin Portal.
  2. From the left navigation panel, under DEVICES, select Devices.
  3. On the Manage Devices screen, select the device you want to block and wipe.
  4. In the Permissions column, select Blocked.
  5. On the Confirm dialog, select the Remote Wipe checkbox.
  6. Click OK.


 Delete a Client Device Record

It is possible to delete a client record from the FileCloud system.

You might want to use this feature when:

  • The userid is no longer valid
  • The associated client record no longer needs to be managed

(lightbulb) If you want to keep the device record but do not want to allow it to connect for a period of time, you can use the Block action.

To delete a client device record:

  1. Open a browser and log into Admin Portal.
  2. From the left navigation panel, under DEVICES, select Devices.
  3. On the Manage Devices screen, select the device you want to delete.
  4. At the top of the screen, click the Delete button.



 Disable Remote Management in Sync Clients

In the Sync client, by default users can see a setting on the Advanced tab called: Allow Remote Management

  • This setting allows Sync users to manage their Sync application by overriding an Administrator's settings
  • In some cases, administrators want to disable this toggling
  • In FileCloud Server version 19.1 and later, this option can be shown or hidden in the Admin Portal 

In the Sync client application, users can prevent administrators from managing their Sync app by setting an option on the Advnaced tab. 

  • In FileCloud Server version 19.1 and later, an administrator can disable this option by adding a registry key called allowcentralmgmtusermodify
  • When set to 0, the central management option is disabled and can no longer be changed by users

To add the registry key:

  1. Add a registry key under: 

Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\CodeLathe\FileCloud\DefaultCfg

2.  Name the registry key: 

allowcentralmgmtusermodify

3. Restart the computer.




  • No labels