Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

 Instead of just communicating the most secure sharing procedure to your users, administrators can configure special settings to ensure a more secure environment when users are sharing files.

 Public Shares Must Be Password Protected

Administrators can require users to create all public shares with a password for an extra layer of security.

  • Users will not be able to disable the use of passwords.
  • This provides an extra layer of security for public shares.

To require a password for shares:

  1. Open a browser and log in to the Admin Portal.
  2. From the left navigation pane, under Settings, select Settings.
  3. Select the Misc. tab, and then the Share sub-tab.
  4. Next to Public Shares Must Be Password Protected, select the checkbox.
  5. Click Save.

 Disallow Share Name Change

For security reasons, you may want shares to have a randomly-generated name that is created by default.

  • Randomly-generated names are more difficult for attackers to guess 
  • Randomly-generated names do not expose user names or a description of the data which are commonly used in share names 

This is how the randomly-generated name looks in the User Portal when creating a share:

As an administrator, you can prevent users from changing the auto-generated share names for security purposes.

To prevent name changes for shares:

  1. Open a browser and log in to the Admin Portal.
  2. From the left navigation pane, under Settings, select Settings.
  3. Select the Misc. tab, and then the Share sub-tab.
  4. Next to Disallow Share Name Change, select the checkbox.
  5. Click Save.

 Hide Send Share Link Via Email

To protect Share links, you can hide the option in the User Portal to send the share link in email. 

This is where the user has the option to share a link to the file or folder in email on the User Portal:

As an administrator, you can disable the display of the email button to discourage users from sending the share link in email for security purposes.

To hide the option for sending a link to the share in email:

  1. Open a browser and log in to the Admin Portal.
  2. From the left navigation pane, under Settings, select Settings.
  3. Select the Misc. tab, and then the Share sub-tab.
  4. Next to Hide Send Share Link Via Email, select the checkbox.
  5. Click Save.
 Limit User Account Searches

The ability to limit searches of user accounts by account type to ALL, FULL, GUEST, or LIMITED is available in FileCloud Server version 19.1 and later.


As an administrator, you can configure FileCloud to limit how users can search for other user accounts. 

By default, when user1 shares a file or folder with user2, then user1 can search for user2's account by the user name or email-id.

  • The search results list both exact and partial matches. 

However, this is not desirable in certain cases and organizations, as the search results reveal user accounts that exist in the FileCloud system. 

Therefore, FileCloud Server allows you to restrict user searches using two search modes:

User AccountUser Account Type
  • Exact Email Search With Explicit Account Invite
  • Exact Email Search With Implicit Account Invite
  • Exact Name/Email Search
  • Partial Name/Email Search
  • ALL
  • FULL
  • GUEST
  • LIMITED

NOTE: You can use both of these search limitations together to create a combination that meets your requirements.

For example, you can set the User Account Search Mode to Partial Name/Email Search, and then use the User Account Type search mode to limit the results to only accounts with FULL access.


Note

Using a search mode limits account searches for all the users in the FileCloud system.

These settings are seen by a user when they want to share a file or folder with another specific user and need to find that user's email address.



 Use Display Name Instead of User Account Name

The ability to change how a name is displayed in Sharing details is available in FileCloud Server version 19.1 and later.

For security reasons, and to make it more clear which user has shared a file, you can change how a user name is displayed in Sharing details.

How User Names are Defined in FileCloud

In the Admin Portal, when you create a user, you can set 3 different names.

1. User Name

  • In the User Portal, by default FileCloud displays the user name.
  • For security reasons, this may not be desired because it exposes the user's account name.
  • It may not be clear to users who is sharing the file with them, especially if User Name includes only abbreviations and numbers.
  • Also, the User Name cannot be changed after the user has been created.

2. Display Name

  • You can have FileCloud use the Display Name on the Details tab when showing the share information.
  • Using the display name does not expose the account name.
  • Using the display name may be more clear to users who is sharing the file with them.
  • The Display Name can be changed after the user has been created.

3. Email name

  • Often the user name is based on the user's email address. 
  • Exposing the user name may make it easier to guess the email name and allow attacks to occur on the user's email account.


Where Your Changes will Show Up

In the User Portal, the user's name will be displayed differently if you change the default display from User Name to Display Name.


 BEFORE (User Name)AFTER (Display Name)
The Details Pane

 The Shared With Me list


How to Change the Display of a User's Name in Sharing Details

Changing the display in sharing details requires you to edit the cloudconfig file and restart the server.

To change the default from User Name to Display Name in sharing details:

  1. On the FileCloud Server, open the following file for editing:
    1. For Windows 

      XAMPP DIRECTORY/htdocs/config/cloudconfig.php
    2. For Linux 

      /var/www/config/cloudconfig.php
  2. Add the following code
    1. To use the Display Name:

      define("TONIDOCLOUD_USE_DISPLAYNAME_FOR_SHARED", 1)
  3. Save and close the file.
  4. Restart the Apache server.


  • No labels