Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Administrators can configure how users store data on the FileCloud Server site, called Managed Disk Storage.

This is the default cloud storage, where the FileCloud server has direct access to the user files stored on a disk filesystem.

  • Managed Storage provides FileCloud complete control over the management of user content. 
  • The storage can be on filesystems on a local hard disk, SAN, or NAS disks.

You can configure general storage settings in Settings > Storage > My Files and more specific storage settings in Settings > Policies. Policies settings include user storage quota and rules for deleted files. You can assign different storage values in multiple policies and assign them to different users.

To set up Managed Storage:

  1. Open a browser and log into the Admin portal.
  2. On the left navigation panel, under Settings, click Settings
  3. Click the Storage tab.
  4. Type the information into the fields as described below. 

    SettingDescription
    Storage PathThis is the location where all the FileCloud user files is to be stored. Be sure to allow enough options to expand storage in future.
    Note: Changing this Storage Path after installation and after users have uploaded files has to be done carefully. If not done properly. It could result in data loss.
    Number of old versions to keep for each fileIf a file with the same path and name is uploaded, FileCloud versions the file. This setting determines number of recent versions that FileCloud should retain. To disable versioning completely, set the number of versions to 0. NOTE: Versioned files count towards the user's storage quota.
    Disable My FilesIf you are only using the "Network Folders" features of FileCloud and don't want to show "My Files", you can enable this checkbox. If there are existing data in "My Files" section, the data will no longer be accessible. Certain functions that depend on My Files will no longer be available.
    User Storage Usage CalculationWhen the user storage usage is reported, the shares used by the user can also be counted towards the quota. This can be changed by selecting the appropriate drop-down option.
    Skip versioning for Files Greater ThanAny file larger than the specified value will not be versioned.
    Email Users Nearing Storage LimitIf this option is enabled then automatic emails with notifications will be sent to users reaching their storage limit.
    Percentage ThresholdDefines the percentage threshold of the disk space. If user storage space is lower than the given threshold automatic email notification will be sent. I.e. if the value is set to 20 then users will be notified if they use more than 80% of their storage quota
  5. Click Save.
  6. Click the Policies tab.
  7. For each policy that you want to change the default storage settings in:
    1. Click the edit button.
    2. Type the information into the fields as described below:

      SettingDescription
      User Storage QuotaThis is the storage quota that is provided for every user of FileCloud. Note that, this is only a quota and does not require physical storage until the user actually consumes the space. Setting this to 0 means each user has no storage quota limit. Changing this setting does not affect the existing user quota.
      For example, if a user has 2 GB quota and if this setting is changed to 10 GB, it only affects newly created users after this point. To update the quota for an existing user, use the user details panel in Users section.
      Store Deleted FilesEnable this setting if you wish to provide a way to keep deleted files in a Recycle Bin. When this option is enabled and a user deletes a file/folder, the deleted item gets moved into their personal deleted files area. Then the user can restore files from their recycle bin or empty the recycle bin completely. Note: Files in the recycle bin count towards a user's storage quota.
      Automatically Empty Recycle Bin After Specified Days
      Number of days after which Deleted Files is emptied automatically. Note that this recycle bin clearing happens at periodic intervals specified here and any files in any recycle bin are cleared. The default is 0 which means that the deleted files are not cleared automatically. Requires a Cron Job to be set up.
      Do not store deleted files greater thanAny file larger than this setting is permanently deleted instead of getting moved into Deleted Files area.
    3. Click Save.

    4. Assign the policy with relevant storage settings to each user.


Warning

Do not change the Storage Path once the installation is set up and data is stored.

This should only be set for fresh installs.

Be very careful when changing the storage path. If done improperly, it could lead to data loss. 



If you upload large numbers of small files from the Web browser interface, to improve upload performance:

  1. Open the configuration file:
    Windows: XAMPP DIRECTORY/htdocs/config/cloudconfig.php
    Linux: /var/www/config/cloudconfig.php
  2. Add the line:

    define("TONIDOCLOUD_UPLOAD_OPTIMIZATION", 0);

    This is useful especially when S3 is used as the managed storage backend.



  • No labels