Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You can share a file with any user, even one without a FileCloud account, and then for security reasons you can limit the time the share is available. 

  • When the share expires, it is not deleted. 
  • After the share Expires date is passed, the link to the share will no longer work.

That means when you share a file, you can leave the default settings in:

SHARE PERMISSIONS

  • Allow Everyone = selected

SHARE OPTIONS

  • Enable Password Protection = NO. This allows a user to access a share without first providing a password to access the file.
  • Restrict Downloads = No Restrictions. This allows any user to download a file an unlimited number of times. 
  • Email File Change Notifications = YES.  This sends an email notification when a file is opened or downloaded for a public share.

However, you must set:

  • Expires = selected


To share a file with everyone and require a password:

  1. Open a browser and log in to the User Portal.
  2. In the User Portal, click My Files.
  3. Select the file you want to share.
  4. Click the Share button.
  5. In the Share Link dialog box, click Advanced Options.
  6. On the Manage Share dialog box, in Share Options, select the radio button for Expires (Optional).
  7. Use the calendar button to select a date or type in a date for when the share will no longer be available
  8. To save your changes, click Update.
  9. To send an email with the link and the expiration date to a user, click the email button.
  10. On the Send Share via Email dialog, type in your Name and Email, and the email address you want to send the message to.
  11. To send the message, click Send Email.



  • No labels