Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

On the User Portal, you can upload, share, and play video files. 

Note

Video playback capability is available only for MP4 files.

If you choose to share a video file, you can set restrictions in the following ways: (click on an option to expand it)


 Configure HOW the file is shared with EVERYONE

In the Manage Share for file window, you can set the following options:

OptionSettingsDescription
Share File/Foldercurrent location of the file

Although you can type in this field and click Update, you cannot change the folder path here.

To change the location of the file, right-click and select Move.

Share Namea randomly-generated name
Expires
  • Never Expires
  • Expires

By default, this is set to Never Expires.

If set to Expires, identifies a date in the future when this file is no longer shared. When a share expires, the link only becomes unusable to other users. The file is not removed or changed when the sharing link expires.

Restrict Downloads
  • No Restrictions
  • Restricted mode
  • No Restrictions - allows any user to download a file an unlimited number of times. This is the default setting.
  • Restricted mode - allows any users to download a file a limited number of times.
Email File Change Notifications
  • YES
  • NO

By default, this is set to YES.

  • If set to YES, then an email notification is sent when a file is opened or downloaded for a public share.
Enable Password Protection
  • YES
  • NO

By default, this is set to NO.

If set to YES, then a user who wants to access this file must provide a password first.

When you share this link through the FileCloud email template,  the password information will be given.

To configure how a file is shared for everyone to access:

  1. Open a browser.
  2. Log on to the User Portal.
  3. If the file is not yet being shared, click My Files, select the file, then click Share.
  4. If the file is already being shared, click Shared Files, select the file, then click Manage Share.
  5. On the Manage Share for file window, in Share Permissions, make sure Allow Everyone is selected.
  6. On the Manage Share for file window, in Share Options, to set a date when you want to stop sharing the file, select Expires and then either select a date using the calendar icon or type in a future date.
  7. If you want to restrict the number of times a file can be downloaded, select Restrict To and then type in a number between 0 and .
  8. To disable sending an email notification when a file is opened or downloaded, in Email File Change Notifications, select No.
  9. To require a user to enter a password before accessing the file, in Enable Password Protection, select YES. You can either use the randomly generated password or type in one of your own.
  10. To save your changes, click Update.


 Configure WHO can access the file

For public sharing, by default, everyone who can access the FileCloud site can access the video file.

When you choose to allow selected users and groups, you must complete the following steps:

  1. Add the user as a Guest.
  2. Configure the access permissions for that specific user as described in Table 2.

Table 2. Guest permissions

PermissionEffect
View + DownloadUsers can browse existing files and download files.
View + Download + ShareUsers can browse existing files, download files and share files with other users.
View + ShareUsers can browse existing files, preview files (not download) and share files with other users.
View OnlyUsers can only browse existing files, and preview files (not download).
Share OnlyUsers cannot browse existing files, but only share files with other users.

To configure who can access the video file:

  1. Open a browser.
  2. Log on to the User Portal.
  3. If the file is not yet being shared, click My Files, select the file, then click Share.
  4. If the file is already being shared, click Shared Files, select the file, then click Manage Share.
  5. On the Manage Share for file window, in Share Permissions, select Allow Selected Users/Groups.
  6. To add a user, select the Guest tab, and then click Add Guest.
  7. To add a group, click the Group tab, and then click Add Group.
  8. On the Search Users window that opens, in the search box type in the account name or email address of the user you want to grant access.
  9. On the Email Notification window that opens, review the email, make any necessary changes, and then click Send.
  10. On the Manage Share for file window, in Share Permissions, select which permissions you want to grant: Allow View, Allow Download, Allow Share.
  11. To save your changes, click Update.


  

  • No labels