Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Administrators can configure 3 main expiration features of a shared file or folder.

FeatureOptionsDescription
Date
  • No expiration (0)
  • Expire in a number of days
Allow sharing to happen for a temporary time, or allow shares to exist as long as the file or folder exists
Actions
  • Have FileCloud remove the URL links to shares automatically
  • Remove shared files automatically

Specify what happens when a shared file or folder is no longer accessible from the Share link

  • Expired URL links will be removed automatically on the next Cron run (In this case the files will not be affected.)
  • If you choose to remove files, they will be moved to the Recycle Bin on the next Cron run
Notifications
  • Alert users with access to a share that it will expire soon
  • Specify the number of days before the share expires that you want to send the email notification
You can have FileCloud send email to everyone who has access to the shared file or folder


Set Expiration Period


 Set Expiration Days Default

Administrators can allow users to share files and folders for as long as they exist, or you can set a suggested number of days that a share remains active by default.

  • Using a value of 0 means that unless changed by a user, shares do not expire.
  • This setting can be changed by the user unless Disallow Default Share Settings Change  is set.

To set the Share Expiry default:

  1. Open a browser and log in to the Admin Portal.
  2. From the left navigation pane, under Settings, select Settings.
  3. Select the Misc. tab, and then the Share sub-tab.
  4. Under Sharing Settings, in Default Share Expiry in Days, type in the number of days you want to use.
  5. Click Save.

Set Expiration Actions


 Remove Expired Shares

Administrators can specify that when a shared file or folder is no longer accessible, the share links are removed. 

  • Expired URL links will be removed automatically on the next Cron run
  • The shared files will not be affected

To automatically have expired share links removed:

  1. Open a browser and log in to the Admin Portal.
  2. From the left navigation pane, under Settings, select Settings.
  3. Select the Misc. tab, and then the Share sub-tab.
  4. Under Sharing Settings, in Removed Expired Shares, select the checkbox.
  5. Click Save.
 Remove Shared Files

Administrators can specify that when a shared file or folder is no longer accessible, the shared files are moved to the Recycle Bin automatically.

  • Files in an expired share will be removed automatically on the next Cron run

To automatically have files in expired shares removed:

  1. Open a browser and log in to the Admin Portal.
  2. From the left navigation pane, under Settings, select Settings.
  3. Select the Misc. tab, and then the Share sub-tab.
  4. Under Sharing Settings, in Delete Files from Expired Shares, select the checkbox.
  5. Click Save.

Send Expiration Notifications


 Alert share Users About Upcoming Expiration

You can have FileCloud send email to everyone who has access to the shared file or folder that it will expire soon.

To send an email alert that a share will soon expire:

  1. Open a browser and log in to the Admin Portal.
  2. From the left navigation pane, under Settings, select Settings.
  3. Select the Misc. tab, and then the Share sub-tab.
  4. Under Sharing Settings, in Send Email Notifications For Expiring Shares, select the checkbox.
  5. Click Save.
 Specify Days to Expiration Email

Administrators can specify how many days before the share expires that you want to send an email notification

  • This option can only be set if you selected the option to Send Email Notifications for Expiring Shares first.

To send an email alert that a share will soon expire:

  1. Open a browser and log in to the Admin Portal.
  2. From the left navigation pane, under Settings, select Settings.
  3. Select the Misc. tab, and then the Share sub-tab.
  4. Under Sharing Settings, in Email Notifications Sent For Expiring Shares in Days, type the number of days you want to use.
  5. Click Save.
  • No labels