Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Beginning with FileCloud Version 19.1 and higher, the Terms of Use checkbox and HTML format for terms of service are available.

Beginning with FileCloud Version 19.3 and higher, by default, FileCloud requires users to accept terms of service changes. 


By default, FileCloud requires users to accept terms of service (TOS) when:

  • they initially create an account
  • the content of terms of service changes.
    Accept TOS checkbox

Enabling privacy settings and the Terms of Use checkbox

To display the Terms of Use checkbox on the log-in page, you must enable privacy settings.   Enable Privacy Settings is set to No by default.

To enable privacy settings:

  1. From the left navigation panel, click Settings.
  2. Click the Policies tab.
    Policies tab
  3. Choose one of the following options:
    • To get consent from all users, edit the Global Default Policy.
    • To get consent for all users in an existing policy, edit the row containing that policy.
    • To get consent from a new set of specific users or groups, click New Policy. Name that policy, and then edit it.
  4. On the Policy Settings screen, on the General tab, in Enable Privacy Settings, select YES.
    Enable Privacy Settings in policy
  5. Click Save.

Terms of service settings

Administrators are able to configure the following terms of service settings:

  • Enable/disable whether users must re-accept terms of service when the content changes
  • Enable/disable whether users must accept terms of service each time they log in to FileCloud.
  • Globally reset all users' terms of service consent

In versions of FileCloud prior to version 20.2, the fields Globally Reset User's TOS Consent, Force users' to accept TOS when changed, and Show TOS for every login appear in the Customization > TOS tab. Now these fields appear in the Settings > Misc > Privacy tab.

To configure terms of service settings:

  1. Go to Settings > Misc and click the Privacy tab.
  2. Scroll down to the following settings:
    Settings, Misc tab, Privacy tab

  3. To globally reset TOS consent so that all users are required to re-accept the terms of service, click Reset TOS Consent for all users.
  4. By default, Force users to accept TOS when changed is set to NO.
    To require users to accept changed terms of service before logging in, choose YES.
  5. By default, Show TOS for every login is disabled. 
    To require users to accept the TOS every time they log in to FileCloud, check Show TOS for every login.
  6. Click Save.

See if a user has accepted terms of service

Administrators can view the user details for a user to see if they have accepted the latest terms of service. TOS Date either displays the date that the user accepted the terms of service or displays Not Accepted.

User Details showing TOS not accepted


Change the content of the Terms of Service

To change the content of the Terms of Service:

  1. Click Customization in the left navigation panel.
  2. Click the TOS tab
  3. To enter new terms of service, change the HTML code in Terms of Service.
    TOS tab in customization

  4. Click Save



  • No labels