Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

  If you encounter issues while using ServerSync, you can troubleshoot issues using the Sync Activity Log.

  • This log shows you all of the actions that ServerSync is trying to complete, and if there were problems.
  • You can also resolve file conflicts using the Activity log.

Sync Activity Log


To open the Activity log:

  1. From the system tray icons, right-click ServerSync, and then select Settings.
  2. On the Home screen, click Activity.

By default, all activities are shown.


You can filter activities.

  1. On the Activity screen, in Filter, use the drop-down to select either "Errors" or "Skipped" files. 


You can also search activities.

  1. On the Activity screen, in Search, type in fragments of the filename or path for which you are searching.


Activity logs can be cleared or exported.

  1. On the Activity screen, to the right of the Search field, use the Clear or Export links.

File Conflict Management

If two people change the same file at the same time, FileCloud Sync app won't try to merge the changes.

  • Instead, ServerSync will save the original file as well as a second version.
  • The second version has the same name but is appended with "Conflict_," the name of the person or computer responsible, and the date and time the conflict occurred. 
  • By creating a conflicted file, ServerSync ensures that all changes are preserved and no one will overwrite another person's work.


 When Does a Conflict Occur?

Conflict can arise under the following conditions:

  • When two people save the same file at approximately the same time.

In this case the first person's changes are saved to the server and when the second person's sync app tries to save the file, it realizes there is a new version and will prevent the second person's changes from uploading and overwriting the first person's changes. In this case the first person's file is downloaded instead and saved locally adjacent to the original file with the "Conflict_" appended to it.


  • When one person edits a file offline and during the time he was offline, the file was modified by another user.

When the person who was offline comes back online and the sync app tries to upload the edited version to the server, it will detect that there is a new version available and instead of overwriting the changes on the server, it will download the server file locally and mark it as a "Conflict" file.


 How Do I Resolve a Conflict?

You can resolve the conflict by deleting the file that you don't want any more.

To view all the conflicting files:

  1. On the Activity screen, in Filter, use the drop-down to select either Errors. 
  2. Double click the entry to open up a dialog that will help resolve the conflict.

For example, if you want to use the file in the server and discard local changes, select "Resolve Conflict using Remote Server Copy" and click on "Resolve" button.


Files That Don't Sync

As in FileCloud Sync, ServerSync may not sync some files because of their file types or names. in the FileCloud Sync section of this documentation, see Files that don't sync for information about which files do not get synced, and see the allowedfilelist entry in XML Options for Sync for instructions on allowing some of these files to sync.



  • No labels