Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The ability to create and manage groups from the user portal is available beginning in FileCloud Version 21.2

User groups that you create in the user portal function similarly to the groups managed by your system administrator. 

User groups enable you to share content or send notifications to all users in groups that you have created or are a member of at once.

Your Admin must give you permission to create, manage, and delete user groups. Otherwise, these options are not visible to you. If you are an Admin, see Giving Users Group Management Permissions.


To add a user group:

  1. In the upper-right corner of the user portal, click the arrow next to your user name, and choose Manage User Groups.
    The Manage User Groups dialog box opens. 
    The groups that are visible to you depend on your permissions. Admin-created groups, groups you have created, and other groups that you are a member of may be visible.
  2. In the Manage User Groups dialog box, click Add a Group and enter a New Group Name.
  3. Click Add Group.
  4. Enter the user names or email address of users you want to add to the group, and click Add.
  5. Click Close.
    The group is added.

To add and remove members from a group:

You may add members to any group, including those that you have not created, if your Admin gives you permission to edit groups.  If you don't have a policy that allows editing groups, but your Admin has given you permission to edit specific groups, you can add and/or remove members from those groups.

Admins and other users with edit permissions for groups may edit your groups.

  1. In the upper-right corner of the user portal, click the arrow next to your user name, and choose Manage User Groups.
    The Manage User Groups dialog box opens. 
    The groups that are visible to you depend on your permissions. Admin-created groups, groups you have created, and other groups that you are a member of may be visible.
  2. To add or remove members from a group, click the Edit button under Manage.
  3. Search for members to add to the group and add them, or click x next to members to delete them.
  4. Click Close.

To delete a user group:

You may delete any group, including those that you have not created, if you have a policy that allows deleting groups. 

Admins and other users with delete permissions for groups may delete your groups.

  1. In the upper-right corner of the user portal, click the arrow next to your user name, and choose Manage User Groups.
    The Manage User Groups dialog box opens. 
    The groups that are visible to you depend on your permissions. Admin-created groups, groups you have created, and other groups that you are a member of may be visible.
  2. To delete a group, click the Delete button under Manage.
  3. Click Remove in the confirmation dialog box.
    The group is deleted.
  • No labels