Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

There are some advanced sync options to control the behavior of  FileCloud Sync. Only use an option if you need its function since some of the options are experimental.

For administrators: Most of these options are also available for ServerSync, and you can add them to the file %APPDATA%\FileCloudServerSync\syncclientconfig.xml.
If an option is not available for ServerSync, it is indicated in the NOTES column in the table below. 

To enable these options open the syncclientconfig.xml and add the following entries

The file is available at the following location

  • Windows: %APPDATA%\FileCloudSync\syncclientconfig.xml
  • Mac OSX: {HomeDir}\FileCloudSync\syncclientconfig.xml
  • Linux: {HomeDir}\FileCloudSync\syncclientconfig.xml
OPTIONNOTES
<rowentry>
  <name>backuprestrictions</name>
    <type>string</type>
    <value>mp3</value>
</rowentry>

Allows you to specify the file types that should be ignored during Sync backup.

  • Multiple values can be specified by using "|" - for example  "mp3|bat"


Not available for FileCloud ServerSync.

<rowentry>
    <name>backupsizelimit</name>
    <type>double</type>
    <value>2</value>
</rowentry>

 Allows you to specify the upload size limit during Sync backup.

  • Must be specified in MB.

Not available for FileCloud ServerSync.

<rowentry>
    <name>checkupdates</name>
    <type>bool</type>
    <value>0</value>
</rowentry>
By default, on sync startup, it will check and report availability of a new version. Setting this option to 0 skips the version check.
<rowentry>
    <name>removeunshared</name>
    <type>bool</type>
    <value>1</value>
</rowentry>

By default, once a shared folder is removed at the remote server local shared folders are not removed.
Enabling this option will remove all folders if they are no longer being synced.
Use this option with caution as data loss might happen if the user had added some files to those shared folders.

<rowentry>
    <name>checkmodtime</name>
    <type>string</type>
    <value>1</value>
</rowentry>

Uses file modification times additionally to detect file changes. Only applicable when using My Files (Managed Storage).

By default, only change in file sizes are used to detect changes to local files. If you are changing some files where the file sizes do not change (like XLS, XLSX) files, then the file size might not change with changing the file under some cases. To detect these changes and upload to the server, enable this option. After enabling this option, restart the sync app and then select "More options" -> Reset all sync data. The app will prompt you to re-login. Enter your account information to continue, once it resyncs all the data then new file changes will be detected and synced automatically.

<rowentry>
    <name>checkcrc</name>
    <type>string</type>
    <value>1</value>
</rowentry>

Uses file CRCs additionally to detect file changes. Only applicable when using My Files (Managed Storage). Use only checkmodtime option above if possible as using CRCs increases CPU load when scanning for changes. It is also possible to combine CRC checks with modtime checks for additional verification.

After enabling this option, restart the sync app and then select "More options" -> Reset all sync data. The app will prompt you to re-login. Enter your account information to continue, once it resyncs all the data then new file changes will be detected and synced automatically.

<rowentry>
    <name>excludepaths</name>
    <type>string</type>
    <value>C:\data\backup\sub1|C:\data\backup\sub2</value>
</rowentry>
Specify a list of paths that are excluded from backups

<rowentry>

    <name>skipdeleteapproval</name>
    <type>bool</type>
    <value>1</value>
</rowentry>
 Skip checking for approval for file deletes
<rowentry>
    <name>deleteapprovalpct</name>
    <type>string</type>
    <value>1</value>
</rowentry>

Determines what percent of removed files will trigger a confirmation before remote server delete.

For example,

0 will show alerts for all changes.
50 will show alerts only when at least 50% of files change.
<rowentry>
    <name>skipinusecheck</name>
    <type>bool</type>
    <value>1</value>
</rowentry>
Disable checks for in use files
<rowentry>
    <name>skipnewfolders</name>
    <type>bool</type>
    <value>1</value>
</rowentry>


Disable skipping temporary new folders "New folder"
<rowentry>
    <name>sslverify</name>
    <type>string</type>
    <value>VERIFY_NONE</value>
</rowentry>

Determines if strict ssl verification is used when connecting to servers over HTTPS (SSL)

VERIFY_STRICT - SSL Verification is enabled which is the default since FC 15.0

VERIFY_NONE - SSL Verification is disabled


<rowentry>
    <name>ssllevel</name>
    <type>string</type>
    <value>TLSV1_2_CLIENT_USE</value>
</rowentry>

For TLS 1.2 only SSL configurations:

Enforcing TLS1.2 and Strong ciphers

The ssl level needs to be changed to 1.2 only

<rowentry>
    <name>maxthreads</name>
    <type>int</type>
    <value>2</value>
</rowentry>

By default, the max download limit for sync is set to 4.

To reduce the number of downloads at a time you can change the value.

eg: 1 - only 1 file will be downloaded at a time.

<rowentry>
    <name>httpproxyhost</name>
    <type>string</type>
    <value>10.1.0.1</value>
</rowentry>

If FileCloud sync client has to use a HTTP Proxy server for outside connections, use this parameter to configure proxy server address.

For example, if your proxy server is 10.1.0.1, it can be configured as shown.

<rowentry>
    <name>httpproxyport</name>
    <type>string</type>
    <value>8080</value>
</rowentry>

If FileCloud sync client has to use a HTTP Proxy server for outside connections, use this parameter to configure proxy server port.

For example, if your proxy server listens at port 8080, it can be configured as shown.

<rowentry>
    <name>httpproxyuser</name>
    <type>string</type>
    <value>proxyuser</value>
</rowentry>

If FileCloud sync client has to use a HTTP Proxy server for outside connections, use this parameter to configure proxy server user.

For example, if your proxy server needs to authenticate with a user proxyuser, it can be configured as shown.

<rowentry>
    <name>httpproxypassword</name>
    <type>string</type>
    <value>passw0rd</value>
</rowentry>

If FileCloud sync client has to use a HTTP Proxy server for outside connections, use this parameter to configure proxy server user.

For example, if your proxy server needs to authenticate with a password passw0rd (for configured proxy user), it can be configured as shown.

<rowentry>
 <name>disablenotifications</name>
<type>bool</type>
<value>1</value>
</rowentry>
Made available in FileCloud Version 19.3. 
Allows you to disable notifications when files are uploaded and downloaded, but allow notifications about errors and new versions. This is an alternative to the Disable Notifications setting in Settings > Other Settings > Advanced, which disables all notifications.
<rowentry>
 <name>allowedfilelist</name>
<type>string</type>
<value>lnk|ini</value>
</rowentry>

Made available in FileCloud Version 19.1. 
Allows users to sync file types like lnk, ini and thumbs.db. To also display hidden files, set <value> to *.*

For example, to sync lnk and ini file types, which are normally not synced, configure as shown.

<rowentry>
     <name>disablenotifications</name>
<type>bool</type>
<value>1</value>
</rowentry>
When set to 1, if any files were skipped during syncing, displays a notification message which says "Some files were ignored by Sync. Please check Activity Log for details." 
  • Do you recommend enabling "checkmodtime" or perhaps "checkcrc" in this case?

Yes, if you are working with XLS files (which don't change size when edited) you will need this option.

  • Why isn't this an default option?

Most files today including XLSX, or DOCX etc always change file size when anything is changed.
Adding the checkmodtime or checkcrc results in additional CPU load as the sync app has to do more work to detect changes so this is not a default option.

  • How can we avoid further data loss of local data after enabling "checkmodtime" or perhaps "checkcrc" and doing an "reset all sync data"?

After enabling this option, sync will download everything from the server to ensure it has a clean slate. You should not have local modified files in this case.
After it is fully synced, this will never happen again.



  • No labels