Editing existing Metadata Set
To edit existing metadata set click the "Edit Set Definition" button on the metadata list.
The Edit Metadata Set Widget will appear where set definition can be edited.
When there are some pending changes and admin is about to close the edit dialog following confirm prompt will appear.
Default metadata set
Default Metadata set is a special type and cannot be renamed.
Although user/group permission widgets look very similar to share widgets their behavior is different. Read/write permission change for each user/group is not saved when the change happens (this is the process for shares). All changes are saved at the same time - when the "Save" button is clicked.
Removing existing attributes
When existing attribute is removed all associated values will be removed. This operation cannot be reverted.
Once changes to the metadata set definition are saved the background process runs. Its task is to propagate changes made to the set definition to metadata_values collection that stores user provided attribute values. This is done to keep both collections in-sync and to increase performance for end-user metadata actions. Metadata info properties (name, description, status) are updated, permissions are omitted as they're not used in the metadata_values collection and the main task is to keep attributes in sync. There are three main use cases that are served by the task:
- New attribute is added - attribute definition is added to each associated metadata_values document. Default value provided for this attribute is used.
- Existing attribute is changed - attribute definitions is updated for each associated metadata_values document. Existing values remain untouched even when default value was updated (the new value will be used for newly associated file objects but not for existing records).
- Attribute was deleted - attribute definition is removed for all associated file objects. Values are removed accordingly. This operation cannot be reverted so all values for this attribute will be lost.