Administrators can configure FileCloud to deal with the site's Recycle Bin through policies.
To manage the recycle bin, you can decide what to do with files in the following cases:
If you enable this setting, whenever a user deletes a file, it will automatically be placed in the Recycle Bin.
This allows the user to recover an old file if it is deleted by accident.
If this option is not enabled, then when a user deletes a file it is removed from FileCloud permanently.
You can automatically clear the files deleted by users and partial uploads.
This is configured by the setting called:
You set this to the number of days you want a deleted file to be kept before being permanently removed.
If you do not want FileCloud to automatically empty the recycle bin at any time, use a value of 0.
If you do not want deleted files to take up too much space, you can decide to only store deleted files of a certain size.
This is configured in the following setting:
Files less than this size are stored
Files greater than this size are permanently deleted
You can specify the file size in the following ways:
You can also restrict a user's ability to empty the recycle bin.
Restrict User's Recycle Bin Options
All of these scenarios can be managed by configuring the built-in policy called Global Default Policy.
In previous versions, if an administrator wanted to configure how the recycle bin worked, they configured storage settings. These settings applied to all users and all items in Managed (My Files) and Network storage.
Administrators can now configure options related to Recycle Bin behavior on a user or group level instead of only at a system-wide level for Managed storage.
For example: In the Cherry Road Real Estate company, every user working in the Accounting office must retain their recycled items for 60 days, but everyone else can have their bins cleared in 30 days. You can now configure when the recycle bin is cleared differently for different groups and users.
The following three Recycle Bin settings now exist in Policies:
You must ensure that the Cron service is running. This is a prerequisite for any automatic functionality in FileCloud Server.
To configure the recycle bin policy: